The Peter R. Phillips Veterans Tennis Championships

2012 Tournament Review

Our 2012 tournament at Club Med, on Columbus Isle, San Salvador, in the Bahamas, would have to be rated among our very best. There was no rain, the hotel was very comfortable, and the meals were comprehensive and delicious. They provided a lot of theatrical entertainment and responded to all our needs. The ocean, beautiful and calm, was a pleasant relaxation.

We had 42 people in attendance, which included four first timers - Toni Patterson (a member from last year, but her first arrival), Beverley Green, Irma Norris, (all three from the USA) and Abbie Gagne from Canada, (she won the Ladies Singles Consolation). We had four others scheduled to attend, but for various reasons had to cancel - James Aboud, Ruth Layne, Mary Lou Taylor, and Linda Sastre.

 Tournament winners were:

Menís Over 45 Singles: Adrian Clarke (fourth straight win)

Menís Over 60 Singles: Terry Redvers

Menís Over 70 Singles: Gaby Sastre

Ladies Over 40 Singles: Julie Salomon

Ladies Over 60 Singles: Sue Kimball (seventh straight win)

Menís Consolation Singles: Colin Murray

Ladies Consolation Singles: Abbie Gagne

Menís Doubles: Adrian Clarke and Mas Kimball

Ladies Doubles: Christine Alcazar and Julie Salomon (fifth straight win together)

Mixed Doubles: Mas  and Sue Kimball

Noteworthy in the tournament results were:

(a)    Mas and Sue Kimball's win over Rob Benneyworth and Julie Salomon in the Mixed Doubles final.

(b)   Adrian Clarke and Mas Kimball's win over rob Benneyworth and Peter Clarke in the Men's Doubles event - halting their winning streak of five successive wins.

(c)    Helen Najarian's win over Marie Jeanne Symmonds in the Ladies Singles.

(d)   Gaby Sastre defeating Peter Phillips in the Over 70 final.

The Serving Accuracy Competition was won by Tyrone Mapp with the best result ever - all three serves striking, and with a total score of nine. Adrian Clarke and Gaby Sastre shared the second and third prizes, with three strikes each.

Tyrone Mapp

Adrian Clarke

Gaby Sastre

Fastest Serve....'tidbit'

Ivo Karlovic, of Croatia,  holds the record for the fastest serve recorded in professional tennis - 156 mph!.


Mas Kimball

Leslie Long

The Peter R. Phillips Trophy Winners

The Peter R. Phillips Trophy donated by Barrie Farrington and annually awarded to a male and female considered to have most contributed to the success of the tournament week, went to Mas Kimball for his tournament schedule arrangements before and throughout the tournament, and to Leslie Long for kindly running the Serving Accuracy competition at the tournament.

Awards Presenter

Marcia Smith handed out the awards.

       Page 2

Contents Page Cover Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8